Choking is no laughing matter

Today I was really frightened! I don’t even know how it happened. I have to tell you about it.

Mum and I were going about our normal feeding routine and it was quite happily enjoying my green beans. Mmm, green beans. They are just great, aren’t they? Anyway, all of a sudden I was overcome with a massive coughing fit. Like, a big one, out of nowhere! I was gasping for air and then, next thing I know, I couldn’t breathe! I had my mouth open but no air was going in. I was so distressed, I was waving my arms hoping Mum would do something. Then she quickly picked me up, threw me over her knee and gave me five big whacks across my back. This seemed to do the trick. Thankfully!

But I was so upset after the whole ordeal. I couldn’t help but cry. Mum gave me a big hug and managed to calmed me down. I looked up and noticed, what? Mum was laughing? Is choking funny? I guess so! I couldn’t help but laugh back. So we laughed together for a while. She was laughing so hard she had tears running down her face! Lots of tears actually. Hm, at least I think she was laughing…

***For info on how to help a chocking child visit the NHS website.***

Leave a comment