Swimday

Today was Swimday. It goes Sunday, Monday, Swimday. Mum spends quite a bit of time getting ready to go to the pool. Too long if you ask me. I don’t understand why. So I fuss a lot to help her move along. Yelling seems to really speed things up.

Now swimming is a very serious sport. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. There are lots of other babies in the pool that think it’s time to relax and enjoy time with their mums. That’s great for them. But for me it’s time to focus on my splashing technique. Mum won’t dunk me underwater yet so I have to splash extra hard to create a similar effect. Once my face and hair are suitably wet, I have to work on showering mum with as many splashes as possible. It’s really exhausting! I think I must zonk out soon after we get out of the pool (see photo below) because next thing I know I’m in my cot at home. She doesn’t know this but I quietly watch for Mum to leave the room. I imagine she heads to the sofa to put her feet up, no doubt bored without me there. I wait just the right amount of time before I scream to let Mum know I’m ready to play again. I continue screaming until she comes to pick me up. It’s just this thing we do.

**Mum and baby participate in swim school at Wavelengths in Deptford**

20140706-092714-34034679.jpg

Leave a comment